Growing Old Isn’t For Sissies

Growing old isn’t for sissies—a phrase I’ve heard before and do not know its attribution. However, there is truth in the saying. Why write about growing old? For me, it is a creative endeavor as well as having my own opinion. I am not an expert. I am just getting started in the growing and getting old business. I am a baby boomer yet not into my sixties. My gutsy mother, aged 80, says she is old as dirt. I have to laugh at that. I feel old as dirt sometimes.

I’ve been studying about the brain and growing old. Yes, studying. Funny in a way. I want to read what is being said. I am not much into the very few who weight lift or run marathons or fabulous looking at aged 80 to 90. That really doesn’t represent the aging population of baby boomers going senior. I’m interested in those who have chronic illnesses going into so-called senior citizen. How are they dealing with health issues and challenges all the while growing older?

I have fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue syndrome, and vasculitis. I managed along for about 15 years with the fibro and chronic fatigue before getting whammed with vasculitis. Then I became very ill with a lot of pain and my body going south in attacking itself. In just a few years, I aged a whole lot faster than the average so-called healthy middle-aged 50 year old. So, I am growing old different than those my age still working ninety-to-nothing and going full throttle. I went through a lot of fear and anxiety as well because of life uncertainty of my life expectancy.

Therefore, I desire to share my journey as I stated in the earlier post Creative Aging. I’ll just free-write whatever my thoughts are including that of creative aging and about what I am reading as well. It has taken me a good long while to decide to publicly share personally. I’m doing this mainly for my own self as therapeutic medicine writing. It is my hope that perhaps I will help a few along the way.

“It is this aspect of seeking knowledge, and, to use an even more direct word, curiosity. Curiosity and the seeking of knowledge is a transcendent life force—almost, you might say, spiritual. It has a driven character to it. It drives you intellectually and, to an extent, physciologically. The brain influences the body in ways we don’t know about. ~Articulated by Michael DeBakey and quoted in The Art of Aging by Sherwin B. Nuland.

Express Yourself

